5 “Get To Know Your Pedaling Commissioner” Qs

10561716_301404520041015_8437356904930965864_n

We’re getting excited for the 2nd Annual TC RIDES With The Commissioners this Wednesday! Hope you are, too.

In an attempt to get to know our Commissioners better, our kids came up with 5 questions while working the Cherry Fest Bike Valet this weekend.

Here are 5 responses:

Tim Werner

540c814e75b34.image

1. Where did you grow up?
Just outside of Pittsburgh, PA.
2. Where did you go to school?
Adlai E. Stevenson elementary school.
3. What are you reading this summer?
Newspapers and magazines.
4. TC is a total bike town but it’s kind of a foodie town too. Where’s your fave place to eat?
Hamburgers in our backyard.
5. I like riding my bike in Traverse City because…
It’s a quick and easy way to get around town.


Jim Carruthers

540bed85c43e1.image

1. Where did you grow up?
I grew up on the east coast in Connecticut, outside NYC.
2. Where did you go to school?
I graduated from the University of Connecticut with a degree in Sociology.
3. What are you reading this summer?
Sadly, I read a great deal of policy papers and many news blogs.  
4. TC is a total bike town but it’s kind of a foodie town too. Where’s your fave place to eat?
Some of my favorite places to eat are The Silver Swan, Harvest and Mary’s Kitchen Port. 
5. I like riding my bike in Traverse City because…
it is convenient to do so and I feel safe doing it.  Lots of great trails throughout the region and it beats trying to find a parking spot downtown on busy evenings.


Jeanine Easterday


542f90986906a.image
1. Where did you grow up?
The city of Detroit.  We rode our bikes everywhere!!
2. Where did you go to school?
Grade school at Christ the King in Detroit where I walked home and back every day for lunch.  High School at Redford High School.  It has since been torn down and replaced with a Meijer!
3. What are you reading this summer?
The Joint Housing Task Force Report, Great Lakes Green Streets Guidebook, the Nature Conservancy magazine/s, and Station Eleven.   
4. TC is a total bike town but it’s kind of a foodie town too. Where’s your fave place to eat?
Poppycock’s, Amical Cook Book Series, and Sorellina
5. I like riding my bike in Traverse City because…
it beats driving!! and you can always find a parking spot.


Mayor Michael Estes

michael-estes

1. Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Dearborn Heights, Michigan and was the oldest of six children.
2. Where did you go to school?
I graduated from Western Michigan University with an undergraduate degree in Accounting and a Master’s in Business Administration.
3. What are you reading this summer?
Besides the Ticker and the RE which I read daily, I am reading “The Stranger” by Harlan Coben and “The Fateful Lightning” by Jeff Shaara, both of these authors were recently in TC.
4. TC is a total bike town but it’s kind of a foodie town too. Where’s your fave place to eat?
My favorites for dining are #1:  my own house as my wife Rhonda is an excellent cook, otherwise we like eating at Apache Trout Grill, The Boat House, Slabtown Burgers (for the fries) and Centre Street Café.
5. I like riding my bike in Traverse City because…
I can avoid times when auto traffic is busy and parking spaces are difficult to locate.


Gary Howe


gary-howe-2013_0044c
1. Where did you grow up?
I lived between T.C. and L.A., otherwise known as Long Lake.  Go Panthers!
2. Where did you go to school?
Long Lake Elementary and kicked it old school when there was only one Junior High and one Senior High. Followed by NMC, NMU, and Johns Hopkins.
3. What are you reading this summer?
Lots. I just finished Samurai: The Last Warrior, a History.
4. TC is a total bike town but it’s kind of a foodie town too. Where’s your fave place to eat?
Harvest because it is the only place to dive into a bowl of phở and I appreciate that it’s in an alley.
5. I like riding my bike in Traverse City because…
I have places to be and don’t always have the patience to walk. Biking is super convenient.


Thank you to the Commissioners (and Mayor!) for taking the time to answer our questions. We can’t wait to ride bikes with them on Wednesday.


Bike Happy. Bike Mas. Bike TC.
Leave a Reply

