A Norte! Story: Cici Bikes Happy To Go Sailing

11745563_457250504456415_5816985667465336581_n

Meet Cici. Cici is a 4th grader at Central Grade School. She joined us and Traverse Area Community Sailing for the inaugural Bike 2 Sail this summer. Bike 2 Sail is a super awesome, zero emission adventure for Traverse City kids where we rode bikes to – you guessed it – sail boats.

We asked Cici to share her experience. Here’s her story:

Bike 2 Sail
By: Cici Copenhaver

I was so happy when my Mom and Dad said I was doing Bike 2 Sail! My Dad had promised me that we were going to sign up for sailing lessons but we hadn’t done it yet. It was my first time sailing and I was super excited! My Mom drove me over to the open space with my life jacket, my bike and my bathing suit.

I recognized Mr. Schmidt from Norte! It was a beautiful Michigan summer day. We biked along the waterfront. Downtown was very busy with people walking their dogs, jogging and playing on the beach. We took the TART trail over to the sailboats on Boardman Lake.

Instructors took several kids out at a time and showed us the parts of the sailboat and how to sail. It wasn’t too windy or too calm. After learning about sailing, I got to go stand-up paddle board and sail a smaller boat with my friends. Next year I am going to sign up for sailing camp with Traverse Area Community Sailing. I used to think TV and video games were fun but being outside is way better. I am so glad I live in Traverse City where I can bike and sail and have fun outside!

Thank you to all of the volunteers for helping with Bike 2 Sail and all the other great events Norte! has done. My family went on several summer Wednesday night rides including one where my cousin and aunt from Delaware came. My cousin was so happy to be biking on his new bike around town. My favorite band also biked with us that night! I think it set a record for the biggest Wednesday night bike train [ Editor’s note: It did indeed. 190-ish neighbors joined The Accidentals for TC Rides to set the “Most Awesome People On Bikes On A Wednesday Night In Traverse City” record]. 

I also went with my Dad to Take Your Kid Mountain Biking Day. It was my first time on the VASA. I went through the saplings faster than my Dad.

2015 Bike 2 Sail photo gallery

Norte! has played a part in mucho Bike Happy moments in Traverse City this year. From pedaling to school to exploring our woods and trails, Norte! has empowered our local youth, like Cici, to be resilient, independent, and self confident both on and off their bikes.

If you like Cici’s story and want to support more of the same, please consider donating to our end-of-year Bike Happy, Traverse City  campaign. With your continued support, we’re committed to building a more bike-friendly Traverse City by inspiring its youth through bicycles.

download

Gracias. And let’s ride bikes together soon.

Leave a Reply

