A Norte! Story: Jack Bikes Happy At Fridays@TheCommons

jack

Meet Jack. Jack is a 7th grader at East Middle School.  We first met Jack this spring at Fridays@TheCommons, our weekly in-town mountain bike shred, and were immediately impressed by his attitude and energy. He showed up week after week all summer and progressed quickly into a legit, confident and strong mountain biker.

We asked Jack to share his experience. Here’s his story:

Norte! at The Commons
by: Jack McNamara

I began riding with Norte! last May and I’ve really enjoyed the Friday evening rides because they are a great way to end the school week and hang out with my friends while doing my favorite thing: biking.  Riding at the Commons is a highlight because the trails are challenging and full of hills.  The hills are the best because after you work your way up the long, steep inclines, you get the  reward of an awesome downhill!

Just weeks after joining the Norte! group last May, I rode in the “Conquer the Village” bike race at the Commons. This was my first time racing, but after just four times around the course on the Friday rides, I knew it like the back of my hand. The day of the race was cold, rainy, and muddy, but once I got moving, I forgot all about it.  I had a blast each time I made my way around the course, and I can’t wait to race “Conquer the Village” and ride with Norte! again next year!

Jack’s Conquer The Village Photo Gallery

Norte! has played a part in mucho Bike Happy moments in Traverse City this year. From pedaling to school to exploring our woods and trails, Norte! has empowered our local youth, like Jack, to be resilient, independent, and self confident both on and off their bikes.

If you like Jack’s story and want to support more of the same, please consider donating to our end-of-year Bike Happy, Traverse City  campaign. With your continued support, we’re committed to building a more bike-friendly Traverse City by inspiring its youth through bicycles.

Gracias. And let’s ride bikes together soon.

Leave a Reply

