A Norte! Story: Avery Bikes Happy With Every Kid In A Park

NorteEveryKidinaPark2015

Meet Avery. Avery is a 4th grader at Woodland School. Earlier this fall, Avery joined us for our adventure to Sleeping Bear to get her Every Kid In A Park pass. We rode the BATA bus, pedaled bikes, climbed sand dunes, explored a museum and ate ice cream. It was awesome.

We asked Avery to share her experience. Here’s her story:

Every Kid In A Park With Norte!
by: Avery Sill

On September 27, 2015 I did my second Norte! ride. It was called an “Every Kid in a Park” Adventure.” My mom drove me to the BATA bus stop at Hall Street where we were to meet the other riders in the Norte! group. I was kind of nervous at first because I didn’t know anyone that I was riding with. But right when I got there everyone was so nice that I forgot that I was nervous.

We loaded up the bikes and got on the bus. Then the bus drove us to the visitors’ center at Sleeping Bear Dunes. As a Fourth Grader, I was given a free pass to any National Park in the country! Then we rode our bikes along the Sleeping Bear Heritage Trail to the Sleeping Bear Dunes. The trail was very hilly.

We were riding through a tunnel of trees. I felt like I was riding in a fairy tale. When we got to the dunes we climbed and climbed and climbed. After we climbed we had lunch, then we climbed some more. It was so fun. I got a lot of sand in my clothes, hair, nose, and ears, but it was worth it!

After Sleeping Bear Dunes, we took the Heritage Trail to Glen Haven on our bikes. We explored the boat museum and the black smith’s shop. At the boat museum there was a super cool scavenger hunt! Then we rode to Glen Arbor to have ice cream at Cherry Republic. The ice cream was delicious. Next we rode to the bus stop to get picked up to go home. My legs were pretty tired but I wanted to keep riding.

At the end of the day I had made a couple of new friends. I felt really proud of myself for riding thirteen miles, more than I had ever ridden before! This day was one of the best experiences of my life. I think the best part was riding with Norte!. Norte! is a very welcoming and encouraging group. I am so excited to be a part of Norte!.

Our Every Kid In A Park Photo Gallery

Norte! has played a part in mucho Bike Happy moments in Traverse City this year. From pedaling to school to exploring our woods and trails, Norte! has empowered our local youth, like Avery, to be resilient, independent, and self confident both on and off their bikes.

If you like Avery’s story and want to support more of the same, please consider donating to our end-of-year Bike Happy, Traverse City  campaign. With your continued support, we’re committed to building a more bike-friendly Traverse City by inspiring its youth through bicycles.

Gracias. And let’s ride bikes together soon.

Leave a Reply

